Award Categories


Excellence in Hospital Pharmacy Award

To be awarded to a hospital-based pharmacist who has delivered a new approach that enables pharmacy to be delivered in a manner more beneficial to the patient.

Pharmacist Contribution to Community Award

Sponsored by Pinewood Healthcare

To be awarded to a pharmacist working in any area of the profession who has, through involvement in non-pharmacy work, delivered notable benefits for the wider community.

Patient Nominated Award

Sponsored by Teva

To be nominated by patients and the members of the public. They will be asked to specifically detail why the professional conduct of this pharmacist was remarkable and noteworthy.

Professional Excellence Award

Sponsored by Helix Health

This award is open to all pharmacists working in areas other than community or hospital pharmacy. This includes pharmacists working in industry, regulatory bodies, the HSE, administration and other roles.

Young Pharmacist of the Year Award

To be awarded to a pharmacist under the age of 30 years whose activities, in the course of their professional duties and development, is judged to be the most commendable.

Practice-based Research Award

Sponsored by Lundbeck Ireland Ltd

This award is offered to identify, recognise and promote evidence-based strategies for optimising the delivery of pharmacy services. The Practice-Based Research Award entries should demonstrate how research has had a measurable impact in terms of improving patient care. Pharmacy Practice-Academic Collaborations will be viewed favourably by the judges.

Excellence in Community Practice Award

Sponsored by Actavis

To be awarded to a pharmacist whose exceptional professional efforts have enabled community pharmacy services to be delivered in a manner more beneficial to the public.

Community Pharmacy Team Leader of the year award

Sponsored by Sanofi

To be awarded to a supervising pharmacist as a leader that recognises the value and structure of team-working as evidenced by a nomination from 2 or more members of that team. The nomination gives examples of how this team leader inspires confidence, leads by example and portrays the profession in a positive light by being professional and well informed.

Overall Pharmacist of the Year

To be selected from one of the above winners.

Liz Herbert Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by JPA Brenson Lawlor

To be awarded to the pharmacist, practising or recently retired, whose efforts on behalf of the profession in Ireland over a sustained number of years, are adjudged to have been the most remarkable.