20 Nov 2017

2017 Clanwilliam Pharmacist Award Winners Announced

10 pharmacists recognised for their contribution to the pharmacy profession in Ireland

The winners for this year’s Clanwilliam Pharmacist Awards have been revealed. 10 pharmacists from around the country have been chosen from the 24 shortlisted. 2017 saw the highest ever level of nominations for the awards, from both pharmacists and patients, with over 400 submissions received.

The awards ceremony, with MC Bobby Kerr, took place at the Mansion House, Dublin on Saturday November 18th in aid of the Pharmacy Benevolent Fund which helps those who have been associated with pharmacy and who are now in need of assistance.

Clanwilliam Health, a leading provider of software applications for community and hospital pharmacies, is the proud host of these awards. With ten awards presented on the night, the Clanwilliam Pharmacist Awards is the only function in Ireland that hosts over 300 representatives from all sectors of pharmacy. This includes pharmacists in hospital, community, industry and academic as well as leading pharmaceutical companies.

An adjudicating panel comprised of respected pharmacists from various branches of the profession selected three finalists for each category, which were announced in October. A winner was then selected for each category and was revealed on the Awards night on Saturday 18th November.   

Two particularly exciting categories were the Liz Herbert Memorial Lifetime Achievement, sponsored by JPA Brenson Lawlor and the Overall Pharmacist of the Year which is sponsored by United Drug. These awards do not have finalists so the award recipients were announced for the first time on the night with Diarmuid O’Donovan receiving the Liz Herbert Award and Catriona Bradley winning the Overall Pharmacist of the Year. 

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Eileen Byrne, Managing Director, Clanwilliam Health said: “At Clanwilliam Health, we recognise that pharmacists play a vital role in the healthcare system and we are delighted to celebrate these professionals tonight who have become a trusted adviser to some and who have their patients’ best interests at heart. Through the Patient Nominated Award, we have heard some truly inspiring stories from patients on how their pharmacist has positively impacted their life. A pharmacist is more than a dispenser of medicines and it’s really important to acknowledge that, like we have tonight.

“From all of us at Clanwilliam Health, congratulations to all of our winners, plenty to celebrate tonight!”

Noel Stenson, President of the Pharmacy Benevolent Fund said: “The Clanwilliam Pharmacists Awards provide an opportunity to recognise the phenomenal work which takes place across all pharmacy sectors every day in Ireland. It’s been a very exciting night for all our pharmacists and each and every one of them are so deserving of their award and indeed, those who were shortlisted should be very proud of themselves too. It’s a great thing to be able to recognise the incredible work that is done among both community and hospital pharmacists around the country, whilst also raising funds and support for the Pharmacy Benevolent Fund. Well done to all of tonight’s winners!”

The Clanwilliam Pharmacist Awards were also supported by AbbVie, JPA Brenson Lawlor, Irish Pharmacy Union, TEVA, Perrigo, Pfizer, Pinewood Healthcare and United Drug.

List of 2017 Clanwilliam Pharmacist Award Winners

Excellence in Community Pharmacy Award

Sponsored by TEVA

Michael Foley, Foley's Chemist, Parnell St. Dublin 1


Patient Nominated Award

Sponsored by Irish Pharmacy Union

John Tunney, Littlepace Pharmacy Clonee, Dublin 15


Excellence in Hospital Pharmacy Award

Dawn Davin, Tallaght Hospital


Pharmacist Led Team Award

Sponsored by AbbVie

Joan McGillycuddy, Tallaght Hospital


Practice Based Research Award

Claire O’Neill, Boots Ireland


Professional Excellence Award

Sponsored by Pfizer

Catriona Bradley, Irish Institute of Pharmacy (IIOP)


Pharmacist Contribution to Community Award

Sponsored by Pinewood Healthcare

Fintan Moore, Greenpark Pharmacy, Clondalkin, Dublin


Young Pharmacist of the Year Award

Sponsored by Perrigo

Gary O’Brien, Broderick's Pharmacy, Barrack Street, Cork


Liz Herbert Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by JPA Brenson Lawlor

Diarmuid O’Donovan, Cork


Overall Pharmacist of the Year Award 

Sponsored by United Drug

Catriona Bradley, Irish Institute of Pharmacy (IIOP)